Very Craftea – Earl Grey Orange Blossom

Time for Tea Please?

Today I’m sipping on my first try of Very Craftea. So thank you for sending me a selection of your teas to try. I can’t wait to get sipping on these.

IMG_0484
Direct from their website :
“The idea of Very Craftea was thought up one evening with my good friend Natalie, a cup of tea, some cake and trying to answer the thought provoking questions, like ‘why aren’t there trousers for dogs?’ ”
Now that is a very sensible topic but more than that it led them thinking about how great “Good company and tea. What would make it even better would be a craft kit to go along with it. Natalie then said “Oh, we’re Very Craftea – you know, like craft and tea” and that’s how Very Craftea came into existence “.
The premise was simple, sell tea and craft kits! But loads of companies sell craft kits, and even more sell tea so other than our amazing name, I needed to be different. I tackled the tea first….

I sell socially responsible loose leaf tea. What does that mean I hear you ask. Well, I work with a single tea supplier and they give 50% of their profits to address the issue of educational development in and around the under-served tea growing region of Darjeeling, so the more tea I sell, the more money can go towards projects to help. This money goes direct to the people it affects, not to a big corporation. [UPDATE: My plan for 2019 is to give back myself and I’m looking into different schemes in how to do this, so keep your eyes peeled for more updates]

Next the craft kits. A long time trying to find, modern, fresh kits which more importantly contained everything that was needed to finish it (how many times have you bought a kit, only to realise you need to buy loads of other stuff to finish it? Ain’t nobody got time for that!) So all the kits I sell are not only super fly, but also with everything contained. They are also made by other woman, in the UK who have their own small businesses.

Now I’m all for a bit of girl power especially being one myself girls helping girls and supporting them and shouting about what we can offer. Especially when these CrafTEA ladies are only in the neighbouring county !

To find out more about Very Craftea for yourself hot the link https://www.verycraftea.co.uk

Earl Grey Orange Blossom

For this blend Very Craftea uses Premium black tea, Bergamot oil flavour, Orange blossoms.

IMG_0477
I love how Very Craftea describes the best time to brew is when you need some caffeine and want to be all fancy. Stick that pinky out when you sip! There’s something quite quintessential about a mug of earl grey tea and I love sipping on mine in the afternoon when I just don’t fancy some milk in my cuppa.

Let’s get brewing !

IMG_0482
The aroma whilst brewing doesn’t overly, change other than the warmth of the liquid has heightened the Orangey flavour to become more apparent. Which when smelling along side the bergamot is just beauTEAful.

IMG_0473
As expected with a black based tea the brewed liquid is that of a dark brown liquid. Traditionally you don’t add milk to an earl grey tea but no judgement here and if you want to add milk you go for it! I love trying new earl grey yeas especially ones that have something different to offer.

Let’s get sipping !

First sip is just tealicious. The bergamot and the Orange blossom just works perfectly together. The flavours of the two citrus fruits adds to the fragrance
and almost floral aspects of the tea. After doing a little bit of research on orange blossom apparently it can also be an aphrodisiac ! Who’d have thought it or in this case sipped it!

For me what I love about any Earl Grey is the way other ingredients added to the “normal” blend can change the sipping experience. For me the use of the Orange blossom is just perfect. It’s not over powering in its flavour it’s enough to let you know it’s there but it also allows the bergamot and black tea to equally have its say within the blend and as part of each sip. Which is what a great tea should achieve so bonus points to Very Craftea.

This tea is one of those that’s perfect for afternoon sipping or as part of an afternoon tea.

Happy Sipping 🙂

IMG_0481

Leave a comment